Serial Killer Music

Certain songs, while I love them, just give off this unintended creepy vibe. Cases in point:

Superstar – The Carpenters

First, it’s a little sad that I’m here writing this while swilling bourbon and soda and listening to it like some 70’s divorcee. Gladly, I’m not crying, I just dig the songs. Something so irresistible about good pop music. But there’s also this creepy vibe you get from it like it could be some serial killer listening to this in his car on a cold night while he stalks his prey. Add to it the very eerie remake by Sonic Youth and you’ve got your movie soundtrack right thar.

Dancing Queen – ABBA

Once again, it’s so sickly sweet it just begs to be deflowered in blood. So innocent, yet there’s a hint of sadness. I could completely get how a movie serial killer could latch on to this one, remember how he was jilted at the junior high dance, and seeking his (or her) revenge to the tune.

Tuesday Afternoon – Moody Blues

This song just chills me to the bone. I know it’s about some dipshit smoking a joint out in a park on a lovely Tuesday afternoon, but damn if it doesn’t raise my hackles to the soul. One reason may be a dream I had about some poor children murdered and buried on a hillside, with this as the soundtrack. Also, there was an A&E American Justice about an army guy who murdered his army wife and they kept playing it. But the cringe factor started the first time I heard it. There’s just something wrong with this one.

Witchita Lineman – Glen Campbell

Oh good lord, another song that I love, but damn if it doesn’t scare the bejesus outta me. “…and I need you more than want you/and want you for all time”. I can just see this guy traveling the byways and picking off poor victims under the guise of a “lineman”. I can picture the movie scene of this guy cleaning off his tools as he polishes off his victim…bleck! I first heard it in the film Tarnation (Awesome!), and it just riveted me.

In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida  – Iron Butterfly

This one is kind of a cop out (I really just wanted to have a top 5 creepy, serial killer songs), but it still fits. I think it’s just the length that is daunting. I could totally see how this would set off someone like Charlie Manson to kill a house full of people.

That’s about all I can think of at the moment. Do you have any to add? Any songs that just creep the shit outta you?

 

2 Responses to “Serial Killer Music”

  1. There’s an oldie that has the lyric “The morning sun is shining like a red rubber ball,” and that song has made me want to kill people. It makes me rage. I would kill people with sardine can lids to this song. I think it deserves a spot of your list.

  2. LOL, that’s more twisted of you than I would expect.

Leave a Reply

