Life of Pi: I’ll Have the Cake, Please

So I watched Life of Pi last night and while I really enjoyed the look and the fable vibe, the end kinda pissed me off. SPOILERS!!!!

The whole thing is this gimmicky question; what type of person are you? One of faith or one of rationality? The problem is that the deck is obviously stacked toward the faithful. I mean who wants to be the type of person that chooses the story rife with the worst of humanity, including cannibalism (which really isn’t so bad if they’re dead and it’s to survive in my book)? So, being an atheist, I’m stuck with the cannibal cook story where the guy’s mother is killed and eaten…fuck that, right!?

On top of that, the whole movie revolves around setting up the tiger fable with only seconds devoted to the truth. The truth, I guess, is ugly and savage and the fable is beautiful and humane, huh? By choosing the rational side you are at odds with the whole movie/ story; you are a bad audience member!

Well then, Mr. Martel and Mr. Lee, if my choices are tiger pie or cannibal pie, I’ll have the cake, please.

Upon further reflection: OK, now after stewing on this for another day, I’m looking at possibly uglier reasons for the whole fable. Guilt, being the number one on my list. But first, I am a truth seeker. While I love a good story and am inspired by people who have survived incredible odds, I don’t like being bullshitted. And I get the feeling that is what’s going on here, but it’s being smothered by this philosophical question of faith.

The truth is probably like this; the kid is thrust into this incredible and disastrous situation with his mother and has to watch as the evil cook kills the sailor and then his mother and eats them. Now, either he stood and watched in misery, (and hey, he’s a teenager in a fucked up situation so there’s some sympathy), or he ate to survive and the fable is really about him dealing with that guilt.

What pisses me off is that we’re trying to sugarcoat it with this bullshit question of faith. The cutesy story with the tiger is predicated on a lie. Just like religion. Forget faith for a minute, and let’s just be “rational.” Even if there is a god, the bible is full of contradictions. Now this could be blamed on the people who wrote it, but if it were inspired by god or created through humanity by god, it should be “gospel,” no? However, most people of faith do not believe every word in the bible. They pick and choose what they want to believe and what rules they want to follow, (case in point; the movement against Same Sex Marriage constantly quotes Leviticus to suit their cause, but conveniently forget to include all the other crazy rules in that book). Much like this story. Sure, you get to choose what you want to believe, but boy who really wants to choose door number 2?

For me, however, door number 2, while scary, was still vastly more liberating than when I initially chose door number 1. I don’t remember when I decided there was a god, but I sure as shit remember the epiphany…no the “revelation,” (tee hee, sorry)…when I threw off that yoke.

 

Leave a Reply

